You are here

McPherson wins 2017 Ohio State Distinguished Lecturer Award

Ryan McPherson wins 2017 Provost's Award for Distinguished Teaching by a LecturerIn a surprise ceremony, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering faculty member Ryan McPherson learned he won the 2017 Provost's Award for Distinguished Teaching by Lecturer from The Ohio State University.

The award is the highest honor bestowed by the university on lecturers. Watch a video of McPherson receiving the award.

Ohio State Executive Vice President and Provost, Bruce McPheron, presented the award and joked about the uncanny resemblance of their last names. He also helped put the honor into some perspective.

"There are only six of these awards out of over 3,000 eligible faculty," he said. "And these awards actually emerge from the accolades of the students you are teaching. So, it's all about what is happening in the classroom."

ECE Chair Joel Johnson said having McPherson come on board in 2011 as lecturer resulted in drastic student approval and his leadership in the department has only grown.

"It's been great. We couldn't have asked for a better member of our team here," Johnson said. "You really deserve this award, so I'm glad to see you recognized."

McPheron said an official award reception will take place in May and McPherson will also get a cash award as well as have the honor of standing on the Ohio State football field during a game for his excellence in teaching.

"To be suitably recognized by over 105,000 potential students." McPheron said.