Welcome from the Chair

Hesham El Gamal

Welcome to the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The Ohio State University. Continuously ranked among the best in the nation, the department offers both undergraduate and graduate programs.

The undergraduate degree is the Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (BSECE), with ABET-accredited programs in computer engineering and electrical engineering. The undergraduate enrollment currently is about 944 students.

The graduate program offers master of science and PhD degrees in electrical and computer engineering, with a diverse student body of 400 students. We grant approximately 120 master's and 40 PhD degrees every year.

Our graduates are recruited by major companies such as IBM, Texas Instruments, Microsoft, AT&T, Intel, Hewlett Packard, Ford, and GM. Many of our students continue their studies in the PhD program at Ohio State and other top graduate programs. Our PhD graduates hold faculty positions at other universities in the United States and overseas. (read more about career prospects in electrical and computer engineering)

The ECE Department’s 58 faculty members and 13 researchers are active in the areas of analog and RF electronic circuits, communications/signal processing, computer and digital systems, computer vision/image processing, control systems, electromagnetics/remote sensing/microwaves, optics and photonics, nanotechnology/electronic materials, robotics/intelligent transportation, networking and sustainable energy and power systems.

Our annual external funding is about $20.1M. Of the 58 faculty in ECE, 20 are IEEE fellows and one is a National Academy of Engineering member. Our research laboratories are housed in three buildings: Dreese Labs, Caldwell Labs and the ElectroScience Lab.

While you will know us much better by browsing this website, you are welcome to visit us any time. Our faculty and staff will be happy to answer any of your questions. Learn more about me and my back ground HERE

Hesham El Gamal
Department Chair & Professor