Shanker, Balasubramaniam


B. Shanker received his B'Tech from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India in 1989, M.S. and Ph.D in 1992 and 1993, respectively, from The Pennsylvania State University. From 1993 to 1996 he was a research associate in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at Iowa State University where he worked on the Molecular Theory of Optical Activity. From 1996 to 1999 he was with the Center for Computational Electromagnetics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as a Visiting Assistant Professor, and from 1999-2002 with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Iowa State University as an Assistant Professor. From 2017, he was a University Distinguished Professor (an honor accorded to about 2% of tenure system MSU faculty members) in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Michigan State University, and the Department of Physics and Astronomy. Currently, he is a Professor and Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The Ohio State University. From 2015-2018, he was appointed Associate Chair of the Department of Computational Mathematics, Science and Engineering, a new department at MSU and was a key player in building this Department. Earlier he served as the Associate Chair for Graduate Studies in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering from 2012-2015, and currently is the Associate Chair for Research in ECE. He has authored/co-authored around 450 journal and conference papers and presented a number of invited talks. His research interests include all aspects of computational electromagnetics (frequency and time domain integral equation based methods, multi-scale fast multipole methods, fast transient methods, higher order finite element and integral equation methods), propagation in complex media, mesoscale electromagnetics, and particle and molecular dynamics as applied to multiphysics and multiscale problems. He was an Associate Editor for IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters (AWPL), IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, and Topical Editor for Journal of Optical Society of America: A. He is a full member of the USNC-URSI Commission B. He is Fellow of IEEE (class 2010), elected for his contributions to time and frequency domain computational electromagnetics. He has also been awarded the Withrow Distinguished Junior scholar (in 2003), Withrow Distinguished Senior scholar (in 2010), the Withrow teaching award (in 2007), and the Beal Outstanding Faculty award (2014).