ECE Leaders Named Among 2020 Excellence in Engineering and Architecture Alumni Award Winners

Posted: October 28, 2020

Several representatives of The Ohio State University Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) community are included among the winning 21 recipients honored with 2020 Excellence in Engineering and Architecture Alumni Awards.

The esteemed alumni list includes South Africa’s first female nuclear engineer, a military jet propulsion systems designer, one of the developers of the Materials Genome Initiative, a nationally renowned historic preservation expert and an entrepreneur enhancing the lives of disabled Ohioans.

Find the entire list of 2020 alumni winners here:

The awards recognize exceptional alumni from across the College of Engineering who have achieved distinction in their fields or through their extraordinary service contributions since graduating from The Ohio State University. A celebration of the 2020 winners will be held in 2021, once it is safe to gather in person.

“We are delighted to honor these alumni who better their communities and our world through their extraordinary professional achievements, innovation and service,” said Dean David B. Williams, the Monte Ahuja Endowed Dean’s Chair. “They represent the best and brightest graduates from across the College of Engineering and inspire us all.”

A face familiar to the ECE department won the Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership, which will be presented to innovator and leader Stanley E. Harrison (BS ’58, electrical engineering). During his 20-year career at BDM Corporation, Harrison developed new technologies for the Department of Defense. After retiring as president and COO in 1988, he served as founding dean of the Harry F. Byrd Jr. School of Business at Shenandoah University. A longtime supporter of his alma mater, he established the Harrison Faculty Award to recognize excellence in engineering education and created an endowed scholarship that supports up to four engineering students from Gallia, Jackson and Meigs counties in southern Ohio.

“The Ohio State University has been the basis for my professional life as an engineer, research scientist, entrepreneur, corporate operation executive and educator at the university level,” said Harrison.

Learn more about the efforts of Harrison and his wife Doris over the years, in the article “The Power of Recognition: the Harrison Family Legacy.”


Other college award winners this year include acclaimed computer system architecture and interconnection networks researcher Timothy M. Pinkston (BS ’85, electrical engineering) is the George Pfleger Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering and vice dean for faculty affairs in University of Southern California’s Viterbi School of Engineering. With over 100 technical publications, he has made key research contributions for abating interconnection network routing inefficiencies and preventing deadlock.


Allen M. Lo (BS ’90, electrical engineering) is deputy general counsel for product, IP and legal operations at Facebook, where he leads a team of over 250 responsible for providing legal counsel and protecting company intellectual property rights. Previously, Lo was deputy general counsel for patents at Google, where his team played a central role in the smartphone patent wars.