Ringel named 2020 IEEE Fellow

Posted: December 27, 2019

Steven Ringel, professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at The Ohio State University, was recently named an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Fellow for his distinguished career.

Ringel joins the 2020 class of IEEE Fellows for his contributions to the advancements in compound semiconductor photovoltaics. He is the Neal A. Smith Chair in Electrical Engineering, Executive Director of the Institute for Materials Research, Associate Vice President for Research and Distinguished University Professor at Ohio State.

A not-for-profit, IEEE is “the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity,” according to its site.

The IEEE Board of Directors bestows Fellow status to an individual "with an outstanding record of accomplishments within the institute’s fields of interest." Engineers are eligible who demonstrate outstanding proficiency and achieve distinction in their profession, with a minimum of 10 years of experience. 

Ringel, a member of the IEEE Electron Devices Society, is long devoted to making advancements in research and innovation in fields related to photovoltaics. His research interests include electronic materials and devices based on compound semiconductors with applications in photovoltaics, integrated electronic-optoelectronics, RF and power devices, and energy harvesting. He also investigates epitaxial growth strategies for compound semiconductor-Si integration, as well as wide-bandgap semiconductors and devices, and advanced defect characterization methods. Ringel also studies global innovation, and translational research between academia and industry. Ringel joined Ohio State in 1991.