ECE honorees at the 22nd annual Distinguished Faculty Awards

Posted: April 30, 2019

Waleed Khalil, Caglar Yardim, Joel Johnson and ElectroScience Lab Director Richard Ridgway.
The College of Engineering annually honors faculty, researchers and partners for outstanding teaching, research and outreach achievements at The Ohio State University. The 2019 awardees were recognized on April 25 at the 22nd annual Distinguished Faculty Awards. 

“Without your hard work and dedication, we would not be able to educate the college’s 10,000 plus students. We wouldn’t have the discoveries, breakthroughs or innovations that help us engineer a better world and future,” said College of Engineering Dean David Williams, Monte Ahuja Endowed Dean’s Chair, while addressing event attendees. “Your talents, supported by over $150 million in externally sponsored research last year, influenced a broad range of applications and scientific disciplines.”

Among the many academic areas spotlighted this year, several faculty members within the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) were honored.

Former department chair and ECE Professor Joel Johnson won the Clara M. and Peter L. Scott Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education. His seminal contributions to the field of microwave remote sensing were pinpointed, his outstanding mentoring of students and faculty, as well as his leadership and distinctive service.

The award is in honor of Peter Scott, a 1949 Ohio State graduate in electrical engineering who received an honorary doctoral degree in 1995. It recognizes a senior faculty member who has achieved both national and international status as a leading educator and researcher. 

Receiving Lumley Research Awards from the department this year were Assistant Professor Abhishek Gupta, Associate Professor Waleed Khalil, and Research Assistant Professor Caglar Yardim.

The Lumley Engineering Research Awards are presented to a select group of outstanding researchers in the College of Engineering who have shown exceptional activity and success in pursuing new knowledge of a fundamental or applied nature.

Learn more about all the winners in this story via the College of Engineering