Rajan wins Young Investigator Award at NAMBE 2017

Posted: December 18, 2017

Siddharth Rajan, left, winner of the NAMBE 2017 Young Investigator Award
An associate professor at The Ohio State University won the prestigious Young Investigator Award at the recent 33rd North American Conference on Molecular Beam Epitaxy (NAMBE 2017).

Winner, Siddharth Rajan, is a member of both the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering as well as Materials Science Engineering faculty at Ohio State. His work is in the realm of nano-scale semiconductor devices, molecular beam epitaxy, and III-nitride semiconductors.

According to the NAMBE award selection committee, Rajan won for his "contributions to the development of molecular beam epitaxy based wide band gap materials and devices."

The annual YI award is sponsored by the NAMBE Advisory Board and recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the science and technology of MBE before the age 40. The award consists of a plaque and a $1,000 Check. The 2017 NAMBE Young Investigator award was presented to Prof. Rajan during the conference banquet on Tuesday, October 17.

NAMBE is a prominent international forum for reporting scientific and technological developments in Molecular Beam Epitaxy research. The conference showcases important results from fundamental materials and device research, through technological applications, and into high-volume and low-cost production. NAMBE features the presentations of the MBE Innovator Award, the NAMBE Young Investigator Award, and the Best Student Paper awards.

This year, not only did Rajan win the YI award, two Ohio State students won NAMBE Best Paper Awards, and ECE professor Sanjay Krishna was the keynote speaker.