ECE highlighted in 20th College of Engineering Faculty Awards

Posted: May 30, 2017

The Ohio State University Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) was represented well during the recent College of Engineering 20th Annual Faculty Awards.

Harrison Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education

Jin Wang, of the ECE High Voltage and Power Electronics Laboratory, received top honors for his leadership in electric power research and education.

Established in 1983 with a gift from Doris and Stanley Harrison (’58, electrical engineering), this award highlights an early to mid-career faculty member’s excellence in teaching and qualitative aspects of teaching, exceptional research, or contributions to engineering or architecture concepts.

Dean’s Meritorious Service to Students Award 

Cathy Wicks, of Texas Instruments, Inc., won for her outstanding service to Ohio State ECE students, including her support of the Electronics Club, the annual Makeathon and education lab facilities.

This award recognizes an individual or group from outside the Ohio State community for exemplary service to students of the College of Engineering or Knowlton School of Architecture.

Faculty Mentoring Award

Steven Ringel, ECE, for his unmatched advocacy and dedication to helping young scientists and engineers reach their fullest potential and realize success. He also supports the strong infrastructure of user labs, interdisciplinary research opportunities, and large centers offered through the Institute for Materials Research.

This award recognizes an individual faculty member in the college for demonstrated excellence in the mentoring of one or more early-career faculty members within the college.

Lumley Interdisciplinary Research Awards 

ECE faculty member, Wu Lu, was honored along with his colleagues, L. James Lee, CBE; and Daniel Gallego-Perez, BME, Surgery, College of Medicine, for their advancements on gene/drug delivery and cell reprogramming that provide a platform for fundamental biomedical research at single cell resolution and enables cell-based therapies that apply to a variety of clinical applications.

Named for John H. Lumley (’27, ceramic engineering), this team award recognizes interdisciplinary research accomplishments of the college’s faculty and research staff.

Lumley Research Awards 

Three other ECE faculty received honors, including Rizwan AhmadYuejie Chi, and Can Emre Koksal.

The Lumley Engineering Research Awards are presented to a select group of outstanding researchers in the College of Engineering who have shown exceptional activity and success in pursuing new knowledge of a fundamental or applied nature.


Category: Administration