Volakis wins George Sinclair Award


From left to right, Teh-Hong Lee, John Volakis and Fernando Teixeira
After reinstating the award in 2016, Prof. John Volakis was announced as the newest recipient of the George Sinclair Award.

Volakis was originally named the winner back at the ESL Annual Awards event in December, although he was out of the country and could not attend. To do the ceremony proper, faculty, staff and friends gathered in the ESL lobby March 20 for the official presentation.

Prof. Teh-Hong Lee served as host for the event. He said Volakis was selected based on "his excellence in research, and his exemplary leadership of the ElectroScience Laboratory, including establishing new research areas in electromagnetic sensor technologies and securing a new ESL building."

Find pictures from the event HERE.

The George Sinclair Award recognizes an individual for distinguished technical contributions and/or service to the Ohio State ElectroScience Laboratory (ESL). The award honors the memory of Dr. George Sinclair, who exhibited exemplary standards in his own technical research and administrative leadership at the Antenna Laboratory (later renamed "ESL") which he formally founded in 1942.