The Center for High Performance Power Electronics

Welcome to the Center for High Performance Power Electronics (CHPPE) at The Ohio State University. The center was co-founded by Prof. Longya Xu and Prof. Jin Wang in 2010 thanks to a $9.1 million grant from the Ohio Third Frontier Initiative, national lab and industry partners. Prof. Xu served as the center's first director from 2010 to 2021.

The research at CHPPE is focused on harnessing the strengths of wide band gap (WBG) devices in a wide range of existing and emerging power electronics applications. 

The center currently has 9 faculty members, with 5 core members and 4 affiliated members,  6 research staff, and over 40 graduate students who are involved in different aspects of power electronics technologies, including:

  • Semiconductor Fabrication, and Device Design
  • High Efficiency High Power Density Power Converters and Inverters
  • Electric Machines and Motor Drive Technology
  • High Voltage and Insulation in Power Electronics Systems
  • Control and Protection of Microgrid and Power Distribution Systems


double-arrow2021 CHPPE Annual Review Directors' Update


Prof. Jin Wang

Dr. Jin Wang (Fellow, IEEE) received his B.S. degree from Xi’an Jiaotong University, in 1998, M.S. degree from Wuhan University, in 2001, and Ph.D. degree from Michigan State University, in 2005, all in electrical engineering. 

From Sept., 2005 to Aug. 2007, Dr. Wang worked at the Ford Motor Company as a Core Power Electronics Engineer.  He joined the Ohio State University in 2007 as an Assistant Professor and was promoted to Associate professor in 2013 and full professor in 2017.  Dr. Wang's research interests include wide bandgap power devices and their applications, high-voltage and high-power converter/inverters, integration of renewable energy sources, and electrification of transportation.  Dr. Wang has over 200 peer-reviewed journal and conference publications and 9 patents.

Dr. Wang received the IEEE Power Electronics Society Richard M. Bass Young Engineer Award in 2011, the National Science Foundation’s CAREER Award in 2011, and the Nagamori Award in 2020. At The Ohio State University, Dr. Wang received the Ralph L. Boyer Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Innovation in 2012, the Lumley Research Award in 2013 and the Harrison Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education in 2017.  Dr. Wang had been an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Industry Applications from 2008 to 2014.  Dr. Wang served as the General Chair and the Steering Committee Chair for the IEEE Future Energy Challenge in 2016 and 2017, respectively.  Currently, Dr. Wang serves as the Chair for the IEEE Power Electronics society’s Technical Committee on Aerospace Power, the Tutorial Co-chair for the IEEE Applied Power Electronics Conference, an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics and the IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics (J-ESTPE).  Dr. Wang initiated and served as the General Chair for the 1st IEEE Workshop on Wide Bandgap Power Devices and Applications in 2013. 

double-arrowParticipating Professors